The 80’s in Pop Culture

The 1980’s was filled with bright colors, geometric shapes, and busy patterns. Often colors like pink, yellow, and blue were paired together. More neutral colors were part of it as well but they typically aren’t what people focused on since it was more toward the end at least when it came to clothing. Memphis design was a big part of the 80’s. It has bold bright colors, shapes, and lines. It has checkered patterns, stripes, squiggles, or mixtures of it all. Memphis design typically reminds me of something you would see in a kids show or on a kids toy.

Even so, the 80’s style was so influential that it still inspires pop culture today. Today, people are caught up in making things retro.

Ready Player One has references to the 80’s design and styles with clothing choices and room designs. The player rooms often had an 80’s feel but still had a futuristic look. A character dressed like a character from Buckaroo Bonzai.

Stranger Things also had influence from the 80’s style. It had scenes referencing movies like Ghostbusters, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, The Goonies, Jaws, Aliens, and many others. My personal favorite is probably the Ghostbusters reference since it is a movie that I have seen and how close it was to the actual movie as well.

I would say there is a specific side to pop culture that I usually lean to. I don’t keep up with personalities, but I do get to see a lot of what is happening with all sorts of gaming stuff. One of the main things that I have seen in the recent years is people trying to chase Nostalgia. They will buy things like Gameboys, old tvs, and other items like those to play or even repurpose. My favorite things I have seen are TV heads. I’ve seen these at conventions, and they are amazing to see. Many people try to deck out the cosplay with bright colors that you would usually see in 80’s design. Another one would be painting Gameboys and other older consoles. Some painted Gameboys are designed to have a more Memphis design feel or even just something that you would think to see in an arcade.



This week I was working on turning one of my drawings into digital art.

Leave a comment